Share this content on Facebook!
31 Mar 2015
celiac disease diet - 12,100 Low


How would you react if you were told that your favorite foods like pizza, pasta and muffins were causing you to be seriously ill? This is a reality for 1 of all the 133 people when they learn they have Celiac Disease, an inherited autoimmune disorder that creates potentially life threatening damage to the intestines when glutens are consumed. Seen in products that contain wheat, barley and rye, glutens inhibit the tiny intestine's ability to absorb minerals and vitamins, leading to conditions like anemia and osteoporosis.

Coeliac disease is a lifelong condition managed and controlled only by adapting to a gluten-free diet. Those that live with the disease cannot eat most bread, cereal, and grain based products. The largest challenge when adapting to the new diet and lifestyle is to make sure that the body gets every one of the essential vitamins and nutrients it takes.

Fortunately, many foods like vegetables and fruit are naturally gluten-free, although some foods are made using products as a substitute. If you're one of the nearly 3 million people living with Celiac Disease, follow these 6 methods for a healthy gluten-free lifestyle: eating gluten free - 1,900 Low

1. Focus on what you CAN eat
Healthy, familiar foods that do not contain glutens include fruits, vegetables, rice, potatoes, oils, the majority of daily products including eggs, and meat and fish which have not been marinated, breaded or processed. Beans are an excellent gluten-free source of protein and fiber. Gluten-free grains include rice, corn, quinoa, buckwheat and sorghum. These grains can be produced into gluten-free flour and baking mixes which can safely be used to make pizza, cookies, muffins as well as other baked goods.

2. Know what's against the rules
Popular foods that contain gluten are bread, bagels, crackers, cereals made with wheat, barley or rye, pasta and beer. Wheat in all forms should be avoided including any products with things that contain wheat inside the name. Wheat is clearly labeled on all packaged food regulated by the FDA.

3. Learn how to read labels
All ingredients in packaged products must be included on the label. In the event the label says "gluten-free", then it's. Be aware that foods labeled wheat-free may still contain gluten. If you're unsure set up product contains gluten, call the toll-free number on the package and speak to the manufacturer.

4. Know the maybe's
Things that might contain gluten include medications, processed cheese, along with other prepared foods like meats that have been seasoned. While artificial flavors and spices don't include gluten, some naturally flavored seasonings do.

5. Embrace the growing marketplace:
Most grocery and specialty food stores now have sections dedicated to everyday food items without gluten. As Coeliac disease becomes more widely understood, gluten-free items are increasingly appearing on restaurant menus. Numerous cookbooks dedicated to recipes and nutrition tips have become widely available in bookstores and libraries.

6. Stay informed
When adapting to a new diet and lifestyle, it's essential to educate everyone in the household, particularly when some family members aren't on the diet. Label wheat and non-wheat products, and avoid cross contamination with the cooking with items like knives, colanders and pasta pots. Know the symptoms of Celiac Disease since 17% of folks that have it also have a sudden family member with the condition.


Comments

There isn't any comment in this page yet!

Do you want to be the first commenter?


New Comment

Full Name:
E-Mail Address:
Your website (if exists):
Your Comment:
Security code: